8 Week of Indexes: Introduction


Over the next 8 weeks, I hope to discuss the ever confusing world of indexes.  I know this topic has been written about and covered in depth by smarter people than me, but this is my attempt at trying to discuss a topic that is as elusive as quantum mechanics.  But more importantly, I am also using this exercise as a learning tool for me. As an accidental DBA turned “official” DBA, I want to learn as much as I can about a very powerful tool that helps SQL run efficiently.

Why 8 weeks? I m being realistic, I am new to blogging and especially new to technical blogging so I am trying to pace myself so I actually present correct information.  Here is my outline:

  1. Introduction (this post)
  2. What is an index?
  3. Types of indexes
  4. Structure of an index
  5. Determining what indexes your tables have now
  6. Are they effective indexes?  What makes effective indexes?
  7. Management of indexes?  They are not “set it and forget it”!
  8. What I’ve learned
This entry was posted in SQL. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 8 Week of Indexes: Introduction

  1. Nikolaj says:

    What happened to the remaining posts?

  2. Nikolaj says:

    Hi There,

    I hope all is ok!
    I look forward to the rest of the posts 🙂

    /Nikolaj

Leave a Reply

